Skip to main content

3 More New Subaru Models Are Picked By IIHS For Top Safety Pick Plus Awards

Does Subaru make the safest new cars? The 2023 Outback, 2023 Legacy, and 2022 WRX earn the highest Safety Pick+ award from the IIHS.


Subaru says they want to be the overall safety leader among U.S. automakers, and they took another step in that direction to get the top car brand ranking. The Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS) announced three new Subaru models earned the Top Safety Pick+ awards.

The 2023 Outback midsize SUV, the 2023 Legacy sedan, and the 2022 WRX sports car were named 2022 Top Safety Pick+ (TSP+) by the IIHS.

The Outback is now an IIHS Top Safety Pick+ award winner for fourteen straight years. The Legacy has earned the highest award for seventeen consecutive years. The 2022 WRX secured an IIHS Top Safety Pick+ award for the first time.

2022 Subaru WRX
photo credit: IIHS

The IIHS says all three Subaru vehicles achieved a ‘Superior’ rating in front crash prevention when equipped with the automaker’s EyeSight driver assist safety technology.

To earn the Top Safety Pick award or the highest Top Safety Pick+ award, vehicles must receive ‘Good’ ratings in each of IIHS’s six crashworthiness evaluations; ‘Good’ or ‘Acceptable’ headlight ratings, and available front crash prevention that achieves “Advanced” or “Superior” ratings in both vehicle-to-vehicle and daytime vehicle-to-pedestrian evaluations. The ‘Plus’ is awarded to models that come exclusively with ‘Good’ or ‘Acceptable’ headlights.

2023 Subaru Outback
photo credit: IIHS

For 2022 and 2023 models, Subaru of America has received an IIHS Top Safety Pick or Top Safety Pick Plus award for every model in its lineup. Subaru says they have earned more IIHS TSP+ awards than any other brand since September 2013.

“We are thrilled that every model currently available in our lineup received a 2022 IIHS Top Safety Pick award,” said Thomas J. Doll, President, and Chief Executive Officer, Subaru of America, Inc. “This is a testament to our commitment to our customers that we will provide them with vehicles set to the highest safety standards year over year.”

2023 Subaru Legacy
photo credit: IIHS

The 2023 Outback, 2023 Legacy, and 2022 WRX come with the automaker’s latest generation EyeSight that includes forward-collision warning with automatic emergency braking, adaptive cruise control with complete stop, lane departure warning, lead vehicle start alert, rear vehicle detection, blind-spot detection, lane change assist, and a rear cross-traffic alert.

The IIHS now says the 2023 Subaru Outback midsize SUV, 2023 Legacy midsize sedan, and 2022 WRX performance car earn the highest Safety Pick+ award. Subaru just took a big step in becoming the safety leader.

You Might Also Like: Subaru’s Safety Tech Hits A Major Milestone And Reduces Crashes

Denis Flierl has invested over 30 years in the automotive industry in a consulting role working with every major car brand. He is an accredited member of the Rocky Mountain Automotive Press. Check out Subaru Report where he covers all of the Japanese automaker's models. More stories can be found on the Torque News Subaru page. Follow Denis on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

Subaru Report - We’ve got you covered! Check back tomorrow for more unique, informative SUBARU news, reviews, and previews you can trust.

Leave your comments below, share the article with friends and tweet it out to your followers!

Photo credit: IIHS