Skip to main content

How Subaru Scores a Remarkable Victory in their First BTCC Season

Subaru’s Team BMR had a remarkable first BTCC season. Where did the team finish?

Subaru didn’t win the driver championship in their first BTCC season, but they scored a remarkable win. It was the final battle this weekend at the iconic Brands Hatch GP Circuit. Silverline Subaru BMR Racing’s Colin Turkington, Jason Plato, James Cole and Warren Scott drove the Subaru Levorgs hard all season and this final race was no different.

The Subaru team was intent on finishing their 2016 seasons on a high as the Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship came to a close. They didn’t disappoint as it was a remarkable end to the 2016 season. Colin Turkington moved up to 4th in the driver standings and Jason Plato finished in 7th overall. Team BMR says, “We gave it our all and Colin finished 4th in the championship.”

Two first place finishes

It was a fantastic result for Subaru BMR Racing this weekend. Tarkington took the checkered flag and won race one. It was Turkington and Plato who crossed the line with a 1-2 finish in race #2. The top two Subarus were running close the whole race, and during the closing stages Plato did a superb job of keeping Gordon Shedden’s Honda in check that enabled Colin to keep his championship hope alive. Colin moved up from 8th to 3rd place in the championship standings and was sitting just 10 points behind leader Sam Tordoff.

The third and final race was a challenge as the final finish for the Subarus were Jason Plato 10th, Colin Turkington 12th and James Cole 16th. There was more disappointment for Warren Scott after contact sent him into the gravel. Overall, the team had a great final round and a remarkable first season.

A remarkable first BTCC season

Team BMR has had an amazing ride in Subaru’s first-ever BTCC Championship season in the rear-drive Subaru-powered Levorg wagons. The team was running strong, and they were in contention for the championship title until the very end. Subaru’s Team BMR had a remarkable first BTCC season.

Source: BTCC

Photo: Subaru Team BMR