Skip to main content

1938 Bugatti Type 57C wins Best of Show at Hilton Head - And It Deserves It

If any car is considered a timeless classic without question or reservation, it's the Bugatti Type 57. If any car show can name a true classic, it's the Hilton Head Concours d'Elegance in South Carolina. When the two meet, car lovers become faint with passion.

The above vehicle won the 2014 Hilton Head Island Motoring Festival and Concours d'Elegance Best of Show award. It is a 1938 Bugatti Type 57C and if any car deserves to be praised, it's this one. Often considered the pinnacle of pre-war design and one of the most coveted, beautiful, and timeless cars ever made, the Bugatti Type 57 is truly a work of art.

Designed by Jean Bugatti, son of Ettore who founded the company, the Type 57 began production in 1934 and ended production in 1940 with about 710 vehicles being produced, only about 17 of which were of this specific coupe model, which entered production in 1936. This coupe model is a two-seat and is one of the most classic of the Type 57 builds. Exceedingly rare, the specimen winning at Hilton Head is owned by Richard Workman of Windmere, Florida.

The Hilton Head Concours is one of the fastest-growing and largest classic car shows in North America. Although Pebble Beach is likely the best-known, most in the collectibles industry know that the HIlton Head show is often far more competitive. This year, some beautiful vehicles were up on offer for public viewing and prize competition.

The Bugatti took Best of Show, of course, but other vehicles considered just as classic were also in attendance and vying for ribbons. The People's Choice award went to a 1929 Chrysler Model 75 Dual Cowl Phaeton, another example of timeless design and beautiful craftsmanship from a bygone era. Only 227 of those cars were ever made. A 1958 Studebaker Golden Hawk won the post-war segment award as well, honoring both the beauty of that highly-prized Stude and one of the founders of Hilton Head's Consours, Paul Doerring, after whom the award is named.