Skip to main content

Ride along on 780hp Subaru “Gobstopper II"s incredible Goodwood run [video]

Olly Clark set the fastest Goodwood Festival of speed hillclimb run this year. Climb aboard the 780hp Subaru WRX STI and see how fast it really is.


The 2008 Subaru WRX STI 'Gobstopper' II won a close competition at the Time Attack 1.16 mile hillclimb course at the Good Festival of Speed this year. The Subaru STI won with a winning lap of 44.91 at 145 mph.

Olly Clark’s “Gobstopper” II STI beat Jean-Phillippe Dayraut in the Mitijet Mini Pikes Peak of ice racing king Jean-Philippe Dayraut by just over half a second. Third spot went to Rod Millen from New Zealand in a Toyota Celica Pikes Peak, with a time of 45.8 seconds.

Check out the winning run below and see how fast the winning lap of 44.91 looks from the inside!

Clark’s 780hp Subaru “Gobstopper II” WRX STI was built specifically to compete in the Time Attack Championship, where competitors have to complete a lap of a track as fast as possible, but are timed against the clock instead of racing directly against each other. This STI has impressive power.

The 2008 Subaru Impreza WRX STI 'Gobstopper' II runs an EJ20 2.0-liter boxer engine that pumps out an impressive 780bhp and 786 Nm of torque. A 6-speed Zytec paddle shift sequential Dog gearbox sends all that power to the four wheels. It runs on 10X18 inch ET54 Pro Forged Billet wheels and AP Racing 390mm carbon front and 340mm carbon rear brakes for stopping power.

Gobstopper I was a 1999 Subaru Impreza STI version 6 Type R model highly modified and was impressive too. It also produced 780bhp and 786 Nm of torque. Roger Clark won the Time Attack Pro Champion in 2008 and 2009 with that Subaru.

Olly Clark won the exciting Time Attack event at Goodwood this weekend in his extreme 780hp 2008 Subaru WRX STI “Gobstopper II” at the 2015 Goodwood Festival of Speed’s Top 10 Shootout. We can’t wait to see what Roger Clark Motorsport comes up with for the “Gobstopper” III.