Skip to main content

Honda Odyssey Selected as Best Redesigned 2011 Vehicle

For 2011, the Honda Odyssey has been selected as the 2011 Best Redesigned Vehicle by The minivan was selected because it was considered to improve on its predecessor in every way.

In the eight years that has given out the award, pickup trucks have won three times. In fact, the Ford F-150 won the award in 2004 and 2009. Ford products have won four of the eight years with Chevrolet and Honda products each winning twice. Interestingly, the Honda Civic won in 2006 and Honda is under increasing pressure to come out with a winner when it introduces the next generation Civic in 2011.

The Odyssey faced some strong competition – and some might argue that most of its competition was actually a more logical choice. The top 10 finalists for's 2011 Best Redesigned Vehicle were (in alphabetical order) the BMW X3, Ford Explorer, Hyundai Sonata, Infiniti M, Jaguar XJ, Kia Optima, Porsche Cayenne, Toyota Sienna and Volvo S60. At least six of those vehicles were substantially better redesigns.

Here’s how the folks at arrived at their decision: “The Best Redesigned Vehicle accolade honors the vehicle that best demonstrates improvement and superiority relative to its predecessor and competitors. In judging, the editors consider exterior and interior styling, technology, comfort and convenience features, performance/capability, driving dynamics, safety, fuel economy, overall refinement and, of course, value.”

And now for the obligatory quotation from "The 2011 Honda Odyssey improves on its predecessor in every way imaginable, offering a better-looking, more contemporary exterior design, a sumptuous interior stuffed with innovative features, and class-leading fuel economy, " said Jack R. Nerad, executive editorial director and executive market analyst for Kelley Blue Book's "Its safety, refinement, resale value and trouble-free nature are combined with a surprising level of fun-to-drive, so it is not difficult to see why Honda refers to the 2011 Odyssey as the 'ultimate in family transportation.'"

Here are the past winners of the award:

  • 2010 – Ford Taurus
  • 2009 – Ford F-150 (which wins twice in five years)
  • 2008 – Chevrolet Malibu
  • 2007 – Chevrolet Silverado
  • 2006 – Honda Civic
  • 2005 – Ford Mustang
  • 2004 – Ford F-150