Skip to main content

3 new Subaru vehicles achieve top safety rating from JNCAP

2015 Subaru Forester, 2015 XV Crosstrek and 2015 Levorg have earned the top Japan safety rating. What is Subaru doing better than other automakers?

Subaru is in the news again for having the safest vehicles on the planet. This time it’s the 2015 Subaru Forester, 2015 XV Crosstrek and 2015 Levorg. Subaru’s vehicles are tops in safety and have just received more top safety ratings, this time it’s from the Japan New Car Assessment Program (JNCAP). The 3 vehicles have been awarded the top rating of JNCAP 3 Advanced Safety Vehicle-Plus (ASV+).

What does this award tell consumers?

2015 Forester, 2015 XV Crosstrek and 2015 Levorg equipped with the new-generation Subaru Driver Assist Technology called EyeSight, received very high marks for reducing accidents resulting in death or serious injury. The safety system EyeSight, alerts drivers when a collision is imminent and helps the car and driver take preventative action before an accident occurs.

A new test for JNCAP

This is the first time the preventive safety performance assessment took place in Japan and it was prompted by the fact that increasing demand for safe automobiles in recent years has led to rapid proliferation of automobiles equipped with "preventive safety technology" such as automatic brakes and other technology to prevent accidents. The JNCAP assessment involves testing two systems, the Autonomous Emergency Braking System (AEBS) and the Lane Departure Warning System (LDWS).

How does the test work?

There are two tests for the AEBS system. The tests involve having the test vehicle approach the target from behind at 10-60 km/h to examine how well the preventive safety brakes function. One test has the target at a standstill, and the other with the target traveling at 20 km/h. Each vehicle gets points awarded for avoiding a collision or, if a collision does occur, according to the reduction in speed achieved before colliding.

The LDWS test involves having the test car travel at 60 or 70 km/h and observing whether the system emits a warning when the car strays across the white lines on the road. The lower the speed at which the warning is emitted, the more points the vehicle is awarded.

How did each Subaru vehicle perform?

The maximum number of rating points that can be awarded to a vehicle is 40. Subaru's three vehicles tested, received very high marks from JNCAP. Levorg was awarded 40 points, Forester 39.9 points, and the Subaru XV Hybrid 39.3 points. As a result of this new preventive safety performance assessment test, all three achieved the highest Advanced Safety Vehicle-Plus ASV+ designation.

  1. SEE ALSO Three things that set 2015 Subaru Forester apart from the crowd
  2. LEARN HOW Subaru XV Crosstrek Hybrid beats 2015 WRX STI for new patrol car job
  3. WHY IS demand unbelievably high for Subaru Levorg Sports Tourer

The new-generation 2015 Subaru Forester SUV, 2015 XV Crosstrek crossover and new 2015 Levorg sports tourer equipped with the Subaru safety system EyeSight, are very good at reducing accidents resulting in death or serious injury. Subaru continues to lead the auto industry in producing the top safety systems.

Other 2015 Subaru Forester safety stories of interest.
New and used Subaru Foresters lead all other small SUVs in safety


henry (not verified)    October 24, 2014 - 2:31PM

We own 3 Subaru's, excellent vehicles, Have not spent a dime in repairs. Just normal maintenance - oil changes, tires, brakes... My family and I are Subaru lifers!