Skip to main content

Aerodynamic 2015 Mercedes CLA-Class is still top of its class for safety

The 2015 Mercedes-Benz CLA-Class gets new safety features that keep the four-door coupe at the top of its class. How safe is CLA?

The all-new 2014 Mercedes-Benz CLA-Class is attractive on the outside, and it’s also one of the safest compact luxury cars in the world. It’s one of the most aerodynamic vehicles in the world, but this did not affect the safety of the CLA. For the 2015 model year, CLA-Class gets even safer. Mercedes-Benz has upgraded the safety systems on CLA with even more of the latest technology.

CLA received five stars in the demanding Euro NCAP

CLA has already achieved the best possible rating of five stars in the demanding Euro NCAP assessment scheme. The CLA came through in the European NCAP (New Car Assessment Program) rating procedure with flying colors. It achieved the best possible rating of five stars for occupant safety, pedestrian protection and assistance systems. But Mercedes wasn’t satisfied and improved the new 2015 CLA even more.

2015 CLA gets new upgrades

The Mercedes-Benz Collision Prevention Assist Plus extends the functions of Collision Prevention Assist with the addition of autonomous partial braking, which helps to reduce the risk of rear-end collisions. If the CLA driver fails to act when the risk of a collision is detected, despite the warning light in the instrument cluster and the intermittent audible alert, the system will automatically trigger partial braking.

2015 CLA comes with the standard-specification Attention Assist system and has been similarly upgraded. The system, when operating within an extended speed range (60 - 200 km/h), now uses a five-stage bar display to visualize the driver's current attention level. Mercedes says the Traffic Sign Assist system will also be able to recognize more traffic signs, recognize speed limits, no-overtaking restrictions and the lifting of such restrictions, and will also alert any driver attempting to drive onto a road in the wrong direction, for example when acceleration onto a freeway.

Standard safety features on CLA

CLA-Class comes standard with a number of safety systems like Collision Prevention Assist, Attention Assist, Adaptive braking technology, Daytime Running Lamps and Rain-sensing windshield wipers. The 2015 CLA four-door coupe also received three "Euro NCAP Advanced" rewards for these safety innovations, including the radar-assisted second-generation Collision Prevention Assist, the Attention Assist drowsiness detection system and the anticipatory occupant protection system Pre-Safe (optional equipment).

The Mercedes CLA is one of the safest compact cars in its class and the 2015 Mercedes-Benz CLA-Class receives new safety technology that keeps its four-door coupe driver and passengers safer than most cars on the road.

Other 2015 Mercedes-Benz CLA-Class stories of interest.
How 2014 Mercedes CLA-Class miraculously saved this stuntman’s life [video]