Skip to main content

Subaru WRX Scores ALG “Best Sports Car” In Residual Value Again

Subaru does it again and scores big with Best Mainstream Brand award and 5 individual ALG Residual Value Vehicle Awards. WRX is “Best Sports Car” again.


The 2019 Subaru WRX sports-tuned sports car has been chosen “Best Sports Car” in the 2019 ALG Residual Value Awards again. The WRX has been awarded the ALG Residual Value Award for each of the five years it has been available as a stand-alone model since it dropped the Impreza name.

What does it mean for performance fans? Subaru has been tops in resale value as its vehicles retain their value and stay on the road longer than other mainstream brands according to ALG. It’s important to know that vehicles with strong residual values help maximize your money at trade-in, and also tend to have lower monthly lease payments. The new 2019 Subaru WRX is a standout winner in this category. 

ALG’s Residual Value Awards recognize automakers' outstanding achievements for 2019 model year vehicles that are predicted to retain the highest percentage of their original price after a four-year period for mainstream brands. Awards are given in 26 vehicle categories as well as for the two brands with the highest overall predicted residual values among all mainstream and premium vehicles.

Subaru WRX

The Subaru WRX, since 2002, is an iconic model in the stable that has a reputation among performance enthusiasts for its outstanding turbo-charged Boxer engine and rally-bred driving dynamics. The Subaru WRX continues to stand out with fans looking for the perfect blend of performance, value and safety. Subaru has attracted a wider audience with the sport-tuned WRX in recent years, and a new generation is finding out the driving dynamics of the sports cars peg the fun-to-drive meter.

Not the only top residual value awards for WRX

The Subaru WRX also scored in Kelley Blue Book’s (KBB) annual Best Resale Value in the Best Sporty Compact Car category. It was the fourth consecutive year the sports-tuned WRX wins its segment. Edmunds released their “Best Retained Value” awards and the Subaru WRX gets Best Sports Car in their annual awards. 

Subaru wins big

ALG announced all the 2019 winners of Residual Value Awards and Subaru scores Best Mainstream Brand award for the fifth consecutive year and gets 4 other individual ALG Residual Value Vehicle Awards in addition to the WRX. The 2019 Subaru Impreza takes the best Compact car award, Subaru Forester wins Compact Utility vehicle, Subaru Outback takes Midsize Utility 2nd Row Seating award, and 2019 Subaru Crosstrek wins Subcompact Utility.

The entire lineup of Subaru vehicles are predicted to hold their value better than all other mainstream brands in the segment, and the 2019 Subaru WRX wins ALG Residual Value Awards five years now it has been available as a stand-alone model. The sports car segment is typically known for their value dropping quicker, but not the WRX sedan.

Leave your comments below, share the article with friends and tweet it out to your followers!

Follow more Subaru WRX STI news on FacebookTwitter and Instagram

Photo credit: Subaru USA