Washington State electric car tax going into effect in 2013
How do we collectively pay for construction and maintenance of "free" highways and other roads? Fuel taxes. In light of the inability to collect fuel taxes from electric car drivers, the State of Washington has passed a law requiring a yearly $100 fee to own an electric car. The fee goes into effect early in 2013, and has criticism from an electric vehicle advocacy group.
The existing fuel tax system is an extremely fair and anonymous way to collect road maintenance dollars from road users. The amount of fees paid by each individual is directly related to how much they use the road system. The fee is anonymously collected at the gasoline pump, which means the fuel tax can't be used by the government as a sneaky way to track all our movements. The flaw is that because the fee is on the sale of fuel, owners of cars that consume a fuel delivered through an alternative mechanism do not pay any fees for road use. For more information see Nicholas Zart's article at Washington State Taxes Electric Car Drivers For loss of Gasoline Tax
The phrase for "fuel tax" is probably not the best way of describing this fee. Because the purpose of gasoline taxes is to pay for road maintenance, a better phrase would be "road use fee".
That is, the homebrew biodiesel maker does not fuel their vehicle at a diesel pump, skipping paying any road use fee (fuel tax) they'd pay at the pump. Likewise, the electric vehicle owner is not refueling their vehicle at a gasoline or diesel pump, and also skips paying road use fees (fuel taxes). So long as the total number of electric vehicles is small, the amount of road use fees lost by the government isn't enough to worry about. But as electric vehicle adoption grows the lost road use fees grows, and if the adoption of electric vehicles successfully results in millions of electrified vehicles on the roads, there will be significant wear and tear on the highways caused by vehicles whose owners are not paying road use fees.
The fee in Washington State was included in House Bill 2660, and goes into effect on Feb 1, 2013. Electric vehicle owners must pay the fee at the time of their annual vehicle registration renewal. The $100 fee is in addition to the standard vehicle registration fees owed each year.