Loeb beats Block for X Games gold.

Sebastian Loeb claims X Games RallyCross gold, Foust and Deegan share podium

Last weekend marked the third stop on the 2012 Global RallyCross season as the cars took to the Los Angeles street course of the 2012 X Games and when the final checkered flag dropped – rally legend (and Global RallyCross rookie) Sebastian Loeb ran away with the gold metal while Ford drivers Tanner Foust and Brian Deegan took home the silver and bronze.

As the Global RallyCross season entered its third event of the season, which took place at the 2012 X Games in Los Angeles, Marcus Grönholm looked to extend his season lead but those plans were dashed early when Grönholm was involved in a violent impact during practice. Grönholm hit the wall hard enough to tear the left front wheel off of his Best Buy Ford Fiesta, sending him to the hospital and taking him out of the competition. Grönholm’s teammate Toomas Heikkinen also left the field before the first real race began when he failed to clear the 75 foot jump during practice. Heikkinen’s Fiesta rally car fell just short of the massive jump, with the nose of his car slamming into the face of the jump base before the car rolled onto its lid and landed upside down. Heikkinen suffered a broken ankle that kept him out of the 2012 X Games field and required him to have surgery while his peers were racing.

This meant that the 2012 X Games gold was really up for grabs with Grönholm out of the race after the Finnish driver dominated the first two events of the season. However, with European rally racing superstar and 8 time World Rally Champion Sebastian Loeb showing up with his Red Bull Racing Citroen DS3 XL rally car, the drivers knew that it would be no easy task to take home 2012 X Games gold. Loeb has won the World Rally Championship each of the last 8 years, racking up an incredible 72 wins since 2001. As one of the most successful rally drivers in the world, being a rookie to Global RallyCross didn’t prevent Loeb from being the early favorite – especially in Grönholm’s absence.


Share on Facebook submit to reddit Share on Google+

Sign-up to our email newsletter for daily perspectives on car design, trends, events and news, not found elsewhere.